Welcome to the British Shakespeare Association

The British Shakespeare Association is a professional association of teachers, researchers, theatre practitioners, writers and enthusiasts. The BSA is a registered charity and its aims are educational – ‘to promote and foster a better understanding of Shakespeare and his work’. Read more about us »

The British Shakespeare Association is governed by a Board of Trustees and Directors who are responsible for ensuring that the BSA meets its charitable objectives.

Three committees with delegated authority report to the Board: Events, Education, and Fellowships. Trustees are elected every three years. If you would be interested in joining either the Board or one of the committees, let us know.

Board of Trustees

Stuart Hampton-Reeves
Stuart Hampton-Reeves

Stuart Hampton-Reeves is Professor of Research-informed Teaching and Head of Graduate Research at the University of Central Lancashire. His research interests include Shakespeare in Performance and Shakespeare’s History Plays, and he is also Chair of the British Conference of Undergraduate Research. He has been involved with the BSA since its inception and has served as Website Editor and Treasurer.

Peter J Smith

Peter J Smith is Reader in Renaissance Literature at Nottingham Trent University.  He is the author of Social Shakespeare as well as a study of literary scatology, Between Two Stools.  He is the UK correspondent of Cahiers Elisabethains and his essays and reviews have appeared in a range of scholarly journals.  He writes regularly for Times Higher Education.  He is currently at work on a stage history of Twelfth Night.

Peter Kirwan
Membership Secretary

Peter Kirwan is a lecturer in Shakespeare and Early Modern Drama at the University of Nottingham. His research interests include digital Shakespeare, collaboration and authorship in early theatre, and book history. He has been a member of the BSA since 2007 and is responsible for the membership database and website.

Gabriel Egan
Journal Editor

Gabriel Egan is Professor of Shakespeare Studies and Director of the Centre for Textual Studies at De Montfort University. He researches on textual studies and early printing and he is currently editing the New Variorum Shakespeare edition of The Two Gentlemen of Verona.

Paul Edmondson
Shakespeare Birthplace Trust Rep
Paul Edmondson

Paul Edmondson is Head of Research and Knowledge and Director of the Stratford-upon-Avon Poetry Festival for The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. He has published numerous articles and books on Shakespeare and speaks at academic conferences and Shakespeare events around the world. He is Chair of The Hosking Houses Trust for women writers and a priest in The Church of England and serves at St Andrew’s Church, Shottery.

Erin Sullivan
Shakespeare Institute Representative

Erin Sullivan is a Lecturer and Fellow at the Shakespeare Institute, University of Birmingham. She researches the relationship between Shakespeare, culture, and identity, both now and in the past.

James Harriman-Smith
Web and Communications Officer

James Harriman-Smith is a lecturer in Restoration and eighteenth-century literature at Newcastle University. He studied for a PhD at the University of Camrbidge where he was the Charles Oldham Shakespeare scholar and a winner of the Harness Prize for Shakespeare.

Marion Wynne-Davies
Chair of the Events Committee

Professor Marion-Wynne-Davies is teaches English Literature at the University of Surrey. She is a well-established scholar, having written seventeen books and numerous articles; she has also held several prestigious international fellowships, including ones at the Sorbonne, Paris and the Folger and Huntington Libraries in America. Her main areas of interest are Early Modern literature and women’s writing. Her publications include criticisms on key authors of the English Renaissance, including Shakespeare, Jonson and Milton, as well as on women writers from the seventeenth century writers such as Mary Wroth to contemporary authors, for example, Margaret Atwood.

Sarah Olive
Chair of Education Committee

Sarah Olive edits Teaching Shakespeare and heads up the Education network and committee. She is a Lecturer in English in Education at the University of York. She is currently completing a monograph on Shakespeare in education policy, practice and popular culture with Intellect publishing. Other research interests include Shakespeare in oral history and on television.

Andrew Jarvis
Elected Member

Andrew Jarvis has been a professional actor for 45 years. As well as spending many seasons in Repertory Theatre, he worked with the Royal Shakespeare Company for nine years and the English Shakespeare Company for five years. He has also appeared at the National Theatre and many times in the West End – most recently in the Ralph Fiennes “The Tempest” at the Haymarket Theatre. Andrew has been involved in actor training for over twenty years – including three years as Head of Postgraduate Performance Courses at Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts.

Paul Prescott
Elected Member
Paul Prescott

Paul Prescott is Reader in English at the University of Warwick. He has recently published Reviewing Shakespeare: Journalism and Performance from the Eighteenth Century to the Present (CUP, 2013), a critical biography of Sam Wanamaker for the Great Shakespeareans series (Bloomsbury, 2013), and, as coeditor, A Year of Shakespeare: Reliving the World Shakespeare Festival (Arden, 2013). He is the co-creator and General Editor of Year of Shakespeare, Reviewing Shakespeare and Shakespeare on the Road,a major digital platform analysing and celebrating the work of North American Shakespeare festivals in the period 2014–16.

Susan Anderson
Elected Member

Susan Anderson is a senior lecturer in English at Leeds Trinity University. Her research focuses on disability and ways of understanding difference. She also writes on music, performance and pageantry in the Shakespearean period.

Ramona Wray
Elected Member

Ramona Wray is Reader in Renaissance Literature at Queen’s University, Belfast. She works on Shakespeare and adaptation (in particular, how Shakespeare signifies in modern cinema, television and in other media) and on Renaissance women writers (dramatists such as Elizabeth Cary, who were contemporaries of Shakespeare).

Education Committee

  • Chair: Sarah Olive
  • Stuart Hampton-Reeves
  • James Stredder
  • Debbie Williams

Events Committee

  • Chair: Andrew Hiscock
  • Trevor Griffiths
  • Paul Edmondson
  • Alison Findlay
  • Peter J Smith
  • Erin Sullivan
  • Marion-Wynne Davies

Fellowship Committee

  • Chair: John Drakakis
  • Michael Bogdanov
  • Paul Edmondson
  • Alison Findlay
  • Liz Flower
  • Andrew Jarvis
  • John Joughin
  • Stuart Hampton-Reeves