Promoting the study, practice
and enjoyment of Shakespeare.

Join today

Nominations for the 2021 BSA Honorary Fellowships

The British Shakespeare Association endows two Honorary Fellowships each year. The 2020 awards, in honour of our postponed conference on ‘Shakespeare in Action’, were given to Dame Harriet Walter and Sir Ian McKellen, for their outstanding lifetime’s achievements in the field of Shakespearean performance. For 2021, the BSA wishes to revert to the usual practice of awarding two Honorary Fellowships – one from the realm of practice, and one from the realm of scholarship/education – to be endowed at next year’s annual conference in Surrey. All members of the BSA are able to make nominations. The criteria are as follows:


“The title of ‘Honorary Fellow of the British Shakespeare Association’ is reserved for those who, at whatever level, have made, or are making, a major contribution to the field of Shakespeare activities, whether it be scholarship, education more generally, or the performance of the plays. This contribution should fall into the category of demonstrating a lifetime’s achievement of excellence, or the demonstration of excellence through a sustained engagement with Shakespeare and his works.”


All proposals, from whichever area, should then be accompanied by TWO nominations (a Proposer and a Seconder) along with a formal written proposal by the Proposer stating the case for nomination (a short paragraph of not less than 200 words and not more than 500 words). Previous recipients of the Fellowships over the past few years have been : Cicely Berry, Stanley Wells, John Joughin, Reginald Foakes, Terence Hawkes, John Russell Brown, Janet Suzman, Roger Harcourt, Chris Grace, Adrian Lester, Sarah Stanton, Ann Thompson, John Drakakis and John Barton. The closing date for Nominations is February 14th 2021. Let’s show the love! Please send all nominations to the Chair of the Fellowship Committee – Eleanor Rycroft – via email to

Website by Agency For Good

Copyright 2024. All Rights Reserved